Great News!

I just opened my email and found the notification that I have been selected to present at our annual Virginia Association of Teachers of English conference. I am so excited! My proposal title was The Space Between Us: Voicing New Literacies through Multigenre Composition. This is the direction I want to take my own classroom in and I think this presentation will make me think even more thoughtfully about how I structure my classroom this year.
I have been working on developing a vocabulary list and how to implement it in the AP curriculum. I think once I settle on the words I will give them to the students and ask them to incorporate at least 10 with each new essay or writing they do over the school year. This would make the vocabulary more meaningful since they would need to understand and apply it to their own writing.
I also got the good news that my school district has picked up Blackboard 9.1 for the coming school year. This platform has blogs, wikis, and electronic journal applications already set up for classroom use. It has been a good day!

Leave a Reply

